Worn Out!

Worn Out!

Worn Out!

The first half of my racing season is finished.  I am considering it an unconditional success.  This winter I had no racing team, a 19.5 lb bike,  and a newly re-minted Cat 3 license.  After placing 6th at my first race, I knew thing were going well.  By far I think the highlights were winning two races in solo moves and making my Cat 2 upgrade.  Now I am racing for Natural Grocers p/b XP Companies on my 17.2 lb Blue RC8 and have enjoyed every minute of it.

Chain Stretch Tool

Chain Stretch Tool

I am still feeling good racing, but after 21 days of racing since April I am due for a break.  I have worn out my training tires (Specialized Armadillo Elite) after 3400 miles, and my race tires (Michelin Pro3 Race) after 650 miles of racing.  My chain needs replacement (stretched 1% since January), and I have worn a hole in my seat cover.

I have had scheduled since December for some much earned R&R for the second half of July.  Firstly, I am headed to France for 10 days.  I will be riding and watching the Tour for five or six days.  I will have a bike with a triple chainring and will keep the pace on the easier side (if this is possible on the Tourmalet!?!).  Then I will have only four days back at home until a week long trip to North Carolina with my Wife’s family.  If I am very lucky, I may find a bike to rent and sneak out for one ride, but probably not.  When I am back in action in August I will have both myself and my bike recuperated and ready to race.

Below is my Peak Power Over Time which shows the steady improvements I have made over the season, but for the most part I have hit a plateau.  Hopefully with some time off I will be able to reach new heights.

Peak Power Graph Feb-2010 to Present

Peak Power Graph Feb-2010 to Present

I will arrive in France on Friday and will be posting as often as possible on my travels.  Look for a quick preview of the trip in tomorrow’s post.

About Russell

I have been racing bicycles for a decade. This blog will chronicle my efforts as a Category 1 road racer lining up with the pros.
This entry was posted in Equipment, Personal, Training and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment